page top

Our History

Our History

Attention: open in a new window. Print


Our organisation originally started in 1965 as Bankstown Municipal Council Employees’ Credit Union when a group of dedicated council staff got together and decided to form a mutual financial institution for the benefit of all council workers and their families.

The first Credit Union premises was located on the ground floor of the Bankstown Civic Centre. In December 1971, the Credit Union moved to Meriton House, opposite the Civic Centre and then in 1975 land was purchased in Kitchener Parade and the Credit Union house was built in 1976. In 1978, the house and land next door was purchased and in 1982 a new building was built at the back and opened in 1983.

From an initial membership of 89 members in 1965 we have expanded and now include a diverse community membership based in Sydney’s southwest and the wider community of Sydney.

On 19 April 2017, Bankstown City Credit Union members overwhelmingly voted to merge with Unity Bank Limited (previously known as Maritime, Mining & Power Credit Union). On 2 June 2017, Bankstown City Credit Union became a division of Unity Bank and was renamed Bankstown City Unity Bank. Reliance Bank is also a division of Unity Bank. History of Unity Bank.